Pictures… for a limited time only

So I’m posting a picture here of the baby, but we’ve decided as a family to keep all of our kids’ pictures private. So I’ll post it so you can see, but I’ll delete it within a few days. So I hope everyone gets to actually see it before I take it down again. Just too many creepy stories on the news about creepy nasty people taking advantage of innocent children and their pictures.

So this is Oliver! 9 pounds and 4 ounces; 21 inches long.

The surgery was by far the best one for me. I mean, being cut in half is never a fun prospect, but I didn’t have any of the normal complications I tend to get with it. They even let me go home from the hospital 2 days early! Woot!

He is an extremely good baby. He sleeps well… I mean, he sleeps well considering he’s a newborn. LOL. He only cries when he’s hungry, which is about every hour or two. He loves to be held and snuggled. He does have a touch of reflux, so holding him upright after he finishes eating is a necessity if you want to avoid lots of spit up and crying. But really, who can complain about getting to hold their baby a little more? 🙂

My milk came in unexpectedly the day after I got home from the hospital. I’ve never had milk come in on its own before. I only make a couple ounces a day, but I pump it and give it to him anyway. I mean, something is better than nothing. He’s growing well. At 4 days old, he had officially outgrown all of the newborn sized outfits we had. LOL. We have his 2 week appointment today and I’m anxious to find out how much he’s actually grown already, because it seems like he’s grown so much already. Stay little baby!!! He’s already growing too fast.

Big brother and big sister are over the moon happy and in love with the little guy. The good thing about being open with your children about your infertility, is that they really appreciate the miracle of a baby, and are honestly excited and feel blessed to finally have a new baby added to the family. They love to “help” mommy with anything baby related, love to hug and kiss and hold him… we just have to supervise them really close to make sure they are gentle enough. They get so excited that they hug him just a little too hard. LOL.

In all, everything went well and was ideal. I feel so blessed and it has been such a joyful time for us. I am grateful.

The only hiccup was that my doctor said my uterus is starting to thin quite a bit at the incision site. That makes it dangerous to try for more children because the uterus can rupture, and if that happens you have less than a minute to do emergency surgery before mommy and baby both die. (I’ve had it happen to a couple friends of mine, so it scares me a bit.) The doctor said he’d “allow” me to try for one more baby, but he “wouldn’t be excited about it.” LOL. Um, I’m not sure exactly what that means. I guess that it is thin enough that he’d be cautious about it, but not so thin that it would definitely rupture? But it kind of breaks my heart a little. I mean, I don’t even know if I will ever be able to get pregnant again. I turn 40 in 2 months and I’ve struggled with infertility for more than 10 years, and only have 3 kids (and a few miscarriages) to show for it. So I realize it might be a moot point anyway… but I don’t want to give up hope and stop trying… not ever. LOL. I guess I’m going to have to make my peace with it. I’m sure we’ll try for the “one more” that he’ll allow. If we can get that one safely here, then I’m sure we’ll stop. But it breaks my heart to even think of that. So I just won’t think about it until it happens. 🙂 Right now I’ll just snuggle this beautiful, amazing miracle baby and bask in the joy of having him here safely with us.

Blessings to all.

One thought on “Pictures… for a limited time only

  1. I guess my comment did not post last I checked your post but I did see the pictures of your precious little boy. I am so happy for you and your family. You are aready thinking of the next baby and I am not surprised 😀 . Hope you are enjoying the gift and remember to take care of yourself in the craziness of the new born stage. Much love

Leave a Reply

