Looking UP…

Okay, so good news… mainly. LOL.  My hcg more than doubled… way more than doubled. Not quite tripled, somewhere in between, but I don’t do math, so whatever. 🙂 I went from 218.5 up to 576.7 … hooray!!!! That is really good. 

The not so good news is that my progesterone has gone from 10.53, down to 7.25, and now only to 7.78… basically my progesterone is crap and a real concern. 

Doctors are completely divided in their opinions as to what to do in this type of situation. Half of them believe that low progesterone causes miscarriage, so they immediately supplement with progesterone. The other half of doctors (which includes my doctor) feel that low progesterone is a symptom of miscarriage, not the cause… and that therefore, prescribing progesterone only masks a deeper problem… that the body will turn around on its own to avoid miscarriage if it’s a viable pregnancy… and that prescribing progesterone will only “delay the inevitable” if it’s not viable. Oy. Love to hear that. 

But I’m Irish, and I pushed. Honestly I didn’t have to push too hard, but I was ready to… I was ready to take it to another doctor as well if he refused entirely. But he did consent to prescribing it for me in the end… after he’d given me his warning about it just masking the problem, of course… so I will start progesterone tonight and hope that it will make a difference. 

I don’t know who is “right” in this debate, but here’s the way I look at it… It won’t hurt anything and it might save my pregnancy. I have nothing to lose and everything to gain. Why not at least try? So I start taking va.gin.al inserts of progesterone as soon as the pharmacy tells me it’s ready. 

Since they are going to supplement my progesterone, they will no longer test for it. So I will have another hcg blood test on Thursday, followed by another ultrasound… hoping to see an egg sac… and really hoping to see it in the uterus and NOT in the tubes. 

This has been such a long week! I can hardly believe it’s only been a week. It feels like a lifetime! Hoping and praying and waiting for Thursday! 

One thought on “Looking UP…

Leave a Reply

