Quick Update

So I’m fully aware that I haven’t written a blog post in a long time. I guess I feel a bit boring. ๐Ÿ™‚ But I feel like I should give a quick update in case anyone is wondering.

Homeschooling is going really well. Cutting back has really helped me a lot. It’ funny though because people still like to challenge my decision a lot. Not quite as brutally and mean spirited as it used to be, but just questions that aren’t really questions… more like accusations. ๐Ÿ™‚ I feel really very confident in answering them, and have TRIED to pretend that I don’t hear the accusation and to respond as if they are genuinely interested… get all excited and talk their ear off about how wonderful it is. lol. It usually works. I don’t know if it changes their minds at all, but at least they stop asking me about it for fear of being told all about it. I guess if you don’t want to know, then don’t ask. eh? ๐Ÿ™‚ Because I do have a lot to say on the subject. In fact, one day I’ll write a whole post about it, and it will be brilliant and life changing….er, something.

My health is… well I guess stable … or as stable as it gets in my life. I’ve been trying really hard to work on my adrenal failure… following doctor’s orders and all that. But I kinda suck at it. But seriously people, it’s hard. I’m nauseated for at least a few hours every morning. And the first thing I’m supposed to do is eat a bunch of freaking protein. I’m allergic to eggs, nuts, seeds, and soy. Milk has too much natural sugar, and beans have too high carb to protein ratio to qualify. So straight up meat, first thing every morning… and I’m nauseated. Ugh. Yeah, that’s the hardest part of the medical advice for me. I’m thinking of maybe buying that pre-cooked bacon, so I can throw it in the microwave every morning. It’s easy and fast… but not exactly healthy. Still it’s protein…. right? I can ignore all the chemicals and salts…. Hmmm.

My temps are CRAZY!!! They kind of evened off a bit for several months…. meaning the peaks and valleys that I usually experience were more like rolling hills… but no more. I’m back to my old giant jumps. A full degree swing daily is normal for me. Making charting for TTC quite challenging. I think it’s swinging more because we just adjusted my thyroid meds again… I’m hoping that when my body gets used to the higher dose it will calm down again??? Who knows. Also, I’m really struggling to get my iron levels up where they’re supposed to be. I’m chronically low in iron, Vit D, and all the Vit B’s. No matter what I eat or what supplements I take. It’s like my body just won’t accept them. Hmmm. I know they’re key to controlling this disease, but dang it’s hard to force my body to do anything it doesn’t want to do.

And last thing, just yesterday I was able to meet a long time blog friend in real life!!! It was so fun! She was in town for a business thing for her hubby, and we got together for a couple hours and did lunch and walked around the mall. It was nice to meet someone face to face. It’s strange at how we really are perfect strangers, but feel more like life long friends. But of course, I didn’t even think of taking pictures. I’m so lame! I got home and realized that I should’ve taken a few with her… gah. Maybe next time. And maybe I’ll take her up on her offer and go visit her one day. I’d love to see Niagra. ๐Ÿ™‚ Okay, I’m even boring myself. But just checking in.

One thought on “Quick Update

  1. Feeling nauseated in the morning doesn’t help. Yes, I too am always low on Iron, Vitamin D and B vitamins. Like you said I wish we lived closer. We can have a protein feast breakfast ever morning :).
    Being allergic to all those things doesn’t help either. I think may be you can stomach a meaty soup in the morning. I can’t imagine having a meal of meat in the morning either and I am normally not nauseated. If you like almond butter may be you can also try spreading it on some bread. What we need is a magic protein pill that we can take in the morning and not worry about it.

    Glad homeschooling is going well.

Leave a Reply

