Purple Sharks and Stuff

Okay, so that was slightly deceptive. It should read purple potatoes, shark week, and stuff.

This year in the garden we planted several potato plants…. try 15. Ha! So 5 of those plants were a new variety (new to me) called Adirondack Blue. They are deep, beautiful purple… all the way through… not just the skin but the whole potato is purple. They are gorgeous!!!

Purple potatoes Raw

I am obsessed with purple, but that’s a whole other story. But the color alone was my reason for trying them this year, and they did not disappoint! When they’re cooked, they are very smooth… like those small red potatoes that you don’t even chop before making with your pot roast… except they are VERY buttery tasting. SO GOOD!!! I have no words. I now wish that all 15 plants were this variety, but there’s always next year’s garden. 🙂

Also, it’s Shark Week and that’s my other full obsession. Not including TTC, those are my only full on obsessions. And TTC doesn’t count as an obsession, because it’s much more than that, much stronger, and something I may actually need therapy for. 🙂  But shark week! I have no words! EEEEEEK! 🙂 Pure joy. I don’t know what it is. But those huge, powerful, majestic, awesome creatures just take my breath away. I am totally in awe of them. I like to think that “in heaven” I’ll get to swim with them and talk to them or something rather juvenile like that.

In fact, you know how some Native American cultures believe in animals as spiritual guides or something, well I feel something close to that for sharks. It’s crazy and I know it’s not real. But for my entire life I’ve had dreams with sharks that rescued or protected me. In my dreams, sharks are the ultimate love and protection. Kinda strange I know. And I’m also fully aware that it’s NOT reality. If I got in the water with them, they’d eat me like a juicy steak. But it doesn’t change how I feel about them. *LOVE* Also, let’s be honest, if you get a big shark to hit you just right, it’s actually a pretty quick and painless death. LOL. I’m sick, but yes I’ve thought a lot about it.

So the sewer line is fixed. We got a quote at a cool $6k for it and we jumped on it. Still trying to sell stuff off to pay for it, but at least we don’t have sewage leaking anymore. Now there’s just clean up and all that. Blergh.

I’m feeling a bit under the gun and unprepared for the school year. This will be my first year homeschooling, and I have yet to buy the curriculum. I know exactly what I’m getting, I’m just waiting on the money to be able to buy it. I have the next pay check ear marked for it, but that’s cutting it so close! The school we’re going through (remember I’m homeschooling with the curriculum/support of a local private school) does testing 3 times a year and the initial test is next month, just around the corner. I need to have everything up and running by test time or we’ll start off being behind where we need to be for the testing schedule. Ugh. How did the summer go by so fast? It’s awful!

Anyway, I’m so bad at blogging lately. So much stress and so much going on. I have pages more I could write, but that would be even longer, and probably boring. So I’ll try to be better…. but who am I fooling? LOL. I’m so bad at blogging anymore. And I guess that’s a good thing. I don’t need it the same way I used to. I still love it, and all of you, but I no longer feel like it’s the only place I have to turn when things get bad. And that’s a positive thing. It just makes my blogging less consistent and more boring. Sorry about that. 🙂 Anyway, ttfn. Go watch some shark week and think of me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

