Starting Fresh

I’ve been blogging for years, mainly as an infertility blogger, but really just as a “whatever I feel like talking about” blogger. But a few things happened to make me move here. I needed a fresh start!

So my old blog was never going to be private, and it was also never going to be found by anyone. I guess I didn’t give it much thought. I was in a really dark place after a bad miscarriage and also finding out my father was dying of cancer. I just needed a place to talk, even if nobody was listening. So I shared the web address, not thinking that anyone would ever really read it. And I also was welcomed in by an online community… the infertility community.  But as my blog progressed, things got… well just strange.

People in real life who were reading my blog, were doing things that I wasn’t comfortable with. Such as reading about my personal life on line and then talking to me about it in public, with no regard for my privacy or feelings. Asking me about my menstrual cycle or sex life or other TTC topics… at church, in the hall, in front of the 12 year old boys… Yeah, that happened. LOL. Those poor boys will be scarred for life!!! That same person decided to “comment” on my blog via my facebook wall, where EVERYONE in the world could read it. “I laughed so hard when I read about the blood clots in your labia…” or something to that effect. Seriously people? In what world is that okay?

Also, I had some issues with family and inlaws reading things that I felt were too personal and commenting to me in less than supportive ways… or reading about when I was thinking about taking a pregnancy test, and I’d immediately have phone calls asking if it was positive or negative.  Phew! Talk about personal space needed! So I started having some serious issues with feeling too exposed, and unable to talk about whatever I wanted to talk about.

So if you know me in real life… if you’ve ever known me in real life… if you even just know my name in real life… please please please… NEVER reveal that type of information about me in any way shape or form.  Don’t link from your blog to mine using my real name. Don’t talk to me about my private stuff in front of non-private people. And please never tell anyone about my blog. I’ve learned the hard way that even really nice people have really big mouths.

I know that goes without saying. And also if you’re reading this then you’re someone who I feel comfortable sharing this information with, that I feel  you are trustworthy and supportive.  But just so I get this blog off of the right foot, I want to put all this out there. Have boundaries established or something like that.

I’m kind of glad to be back to blogging again. I have a few ideas rolling around in my head. And another thing I’m excited about is that since this is a new blog, it’s also a new day. On my old blog, I was careful to only write about topics that I felt were “safe” and “interesting.” No more! LOL. I’m here to talk about whatever I feel like. And that feels liberating.

9 thoughts on “Starting Fresh

  1. Hurray! I’m so glad you’re back to blogging! Do you have a blogging name that I can/should refer to you as? Will it be the same as your old secret name? 😀

  2. Woo Hoo for the fresh start. I had to do the same a few years ago and was just so upset how stupid people can be but I will tell you that fresh start was the best thing ever. Nobody thinks before they speak these days and they certainly don’t think of anyone else or their feelings before talking – I miss that sense of politeness but it does make us more aware and in the end I think it makes us better people too! Welcome back to the blogging world and enjoy the thought vomits without holding back, I love them!!

  3. I am so glad you commented on my post because I didn’t know you had a new blog- how did I miss that?! I’m so sorry. Anyway, yay! Also, you WON the book giveaway- yay again! I’m so glad it’s going to someone I “know”. I hope you like it- email me your shipping address and I’ll order it for you right away.

Leave a Reply

